Review: The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney

Review: The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney

The Girl Before was getting a lot of buzz early this winter for its suspenseful plot and of course, Gone Girl comparisons. It tells the story about Emma and Jane, at alternating points in time, as they move into a mysterious house built by an even more mysterious architect. The house comes with more than a few “rules” for living there. You can’t have any personal effects, and nothing you don’t “need.” This book was…strange. I liked it as I read, despite seeing some pretty negative reviews calling it a mashup of Fifty Shades and Gone Girl. Again, there was nothing Gone Girl about this one — there was a female main character, but that was really about it. I didn’t read Fifty Shades, but there […]

Review: The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda

Review: The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda

Megan Miranda’s forthcoming thriller, The Perfect Stranger is the story of Leah, a disgraced journalist forced to leave Boston for Western Pennsylvania, to a house in the middle of nowhere with a girl she hasn’t seen in eight years. Leah initially met Emmy Grey right after graduating college and being rejected from a job she thought she was a shoo-in for. Emmy let her stay with her for a fraction of the rent, and Leah always thought Emmy had saved her during her time in need. Fast forward eight years, Leah hasn’t heard a word from Emmy since she joined the Peace Corps a few months after Leah moved in, when she bumps into her in a bar in Boston. Coincidence? […]

5 Romance Recommendations For Your Snow Day

5 Romance Recommendations For Your Snow Day

First of all, I don’t think I’ve ever made a more unlike me graphic, or written a more unlikely post, but ever since The Hating Game all I want is to find another great, light romantic comedy. Luckily, I’ve read some that come pretty close on my ~*romance journey*~ and thought I would do a collective review/recommendation post rather than a bunch of short stand alone reviews. A Girl Like You by Gemma Burgess A Girl Like You is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella’s books. It has the same British humor, the same group of girlfriends that is usually prominent in a Sophie Kinsella book, and an element of self-discovery along the way. Abigail is single for the first time in […]

I Read This Twice in One Week: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

I Read This Twice in One Week: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

The Hating Game is unlike any other book I’ve ever read in the sense that I felt literally compelled to read it twice IN. ONE. WEEK. I couldn’t get into anything else because I was convinced it wouldn’t be as good as Sally Thorne’s debut novel, so I just immediately read it again. I’ve never done that and probably won’t again any time soon but I can’t recommend this highly enough. The Hating Game is the perfect summer read, and I will probably jump into it a third time on vacation this summer, I can already tell. It’s about Lucy (Lucinda) and Josh, two coworkers who are competitive at best and enemies at worst. When they both come up for the […]

Review: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

Review: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

A lot of people will probably hate this book. I’m actually surprised I walked away from an ending like this one not hating it. This book was marketed on the premise of its crazy ending, and the fact that you’ll never see it coming. It will probably be compared to Gone Girl. But, despite those things, I couldn’t put this one down. Behind Her Eyes is told from the alternating perspectives of Louise and Adele. Louise is divorced, raising her six-year-old son alone, working a few days a week at a clinic, and wondering if she is destined to spend the rest of her 30’s alone with a bottle of wine every night. Until one night she meets a man in a bar […]

Review: A List of Cages by Robin Roe

Review: A List of Cages by Robin Roe

Recently, I’ve been seeing this star-covered book all over the place, and remembered I’d actually requested it a few months ago from Netgalley, and had it ready to go on my Kindle app. I say it a lot but I really don’t request books all that often, so I must have been really interested at the time. I just have to say, good looking out, past me, because it is already sure to be a favorite for the year. It is JANUARY. The book is A List of Cages by Robin Roe. I read a few pages getting ready the other morning. Then even more on the packed train, where my phone was the only way I could read that day. Needless to […]